Fix “These settings have been configured by a profile” in macOS

Many people have voiced displeasure on forums after upgrading macOS Sonoma, stating that their Apple ID settings have been greyed out. This problem is accompanied by a warning or error message stating, “These settings have been configured by a profile.” If you are experiencing the same issue, continue reading to learn how to remove the alert and recover access to your Apple ID settings.

Change Preference Restrictions in Content and Privacy

The macOS Sonoma update may have changed content and privacy settings. How to modify it:

  • Navigate to the Apple menu on your Mac and choose Screen Time in the sidebar.
  • Choose Content & Privacy.
  • Turn on Content & Privacy and choose Preference Restrictions.
Fix “These settings have been configured by a profile” in macOS

  • Select Allow Passcode and Account Changes.
  • Accept your choices by clicking Done.
Fix “These settings have been configured by a profile” in macOS

Change the Content and Privacy Restrictions on Your iPhone

It’s possible to have your Mac and iPhone synced. The update to iOS 17 may have caused your Mac to lose content or privacy settings.

To modify on iPhone:

  1. Access Screen Time in Settings.
  2. Set Content and Privacy.
  3. Under Allow Changes, check Passcode and Account Changes and allow them. Toggle Content & Privacy
    • Restrictions if not.
    • Tap Passcode and Account Changes and choose Allow from the submenu.
Fix “These settings have been configured by a profile” in macOS

Remove a configuration profile from your Mac

Your network administrator can create a profile for your Mac computer if it is provided by your employer or school. This will standardize the settings on all Mac computers. This configuration profile contains settings for Mail accounts and VPN settings.

Uninstall a configuration profile on a non-networked Mac:

  • Select System Settings from the Apple menu.
  • Go to Privacy & Security in the sidebar. Scroll to Profiles.
How to fix “These settings have been configured by a profile” in macOS Sonoma

  • Select the profile to remove from the list.

Removing a profile erases its data and settings from your Mac. Request assistance from the profile provider if you cannot delete it.

Wrapping up…

It’s not always necessary to modify your Apple ID settings. However, it is frustrating when you can’t manage these personal settings. A few clicks will help you reverse the alert that says “These settings were configured by a user profile” on your Mac. Any of the above fixes helped? Please share your experiences below!

Leave a Comment